31 Days, Day 13 – Time and Technology

Today would have been another birthday for my PaPaw, Joe Hughes.  He went home in 2002 and I’ve missed him so much since.  When I look back through my childhood he was one of the most influential people in my life.  He was a Borden Milk Man, Gardener, pig and cattle farmer, Jesus follower, and so much more.  He was a busy man in an era with no digital technology.  No matter how busy he was with work (before sun up to after sundown) he made time for the things important to him.  Activities like visiting friends in the nursing home, visiting friends sick at home, gardening, playing with his grandkids, spending time with extended family, giving people work when they were in need, and I could go on and on.

I have the same amount of hours in the day as Papaw did, so why do I feel so out of control and overwhelmed some days?   When I’m evaluating my over-worked schedule I’ve got to be honest with myself and realize part of the issue is the time wasted with my iPhone, computer, and TV.  Oh technology…you’re so good yet so bad!  Do I want to waste my minutes and hours with mindless activity and then fuss when I feel overwhelmed?  Or do I want to be a good steward of the hours in a day God has given me?

I believe today is another day of adjustment.  Today is another day of commitment.  Today I work at not wasting my time on mindless activities.  Today I can look at my schedule and be grateful for the less stressed life God has helped me work towards and continue to use the time he’s given me wisely.

Honesty again…I’m not making hard stands on I will not look at social media, I will not turn on the TV, I will not waste time trying to figure out how to navigate these blog tools.  I’m going to pray that God helps me use my 24 hours wisely and when I want to stop and use technology I have to think about what I’m sacrificing in order to see the online world that too many times I want to be too much of my reality world.  Is it worth the cost? Is it going to make me feel crazy busy again at the end of the day?

How do you manage your schedule with life responsibilities and the temptations of technology?  Do you have an influential person who has shown you how to live a fulfilling less stressed life?

Leave a Reply

