31 Days, Day 5: Good Ole Sabbath Rest

In my growing up at home years, Sunday afternoons were sacred.  My dad is a pastor and rest was essential on Sundays.  And we sure knew not to disturb mom’s nap.  I had two choices – 1. nap  2. be quiet.  Nappin’ usually won out.

When I began dating my now husband he could not understand why I wanted to sleep for 4 hours on Sunday afternoon.  He told me “napping’s for old people”.  He opened my eyes to the idea of resting on Sunday without sleeping all afternoon.  Ironically, now that we’ve been married for 14 years and have 3 kids he naps every Sunday afternoon and I don’t!  Who’s old now?

I completely understand God’s example and design for a Sabbath rest.  He knew our mind, bodies, and soul had to rest, re-coup, and focus on Him to be able to make it through another 6 days. When I evaluate my crazy busyness I can see when I’m not honoring a Sabbath rest it leads to more crazy busy.

For my family Sabbath rest looks a little like this
-church
-lunch as a family or with friends
-playing as a family and resting/napping
-maybe a little bike ride or run for mom

I know that Sunday isn’t the Sabbath rest everyone in the world can observe.  Everyone’s work and responsibilities are different.  However, I believe with all my heart that God wants us to take a day to slow down, re-charge, unplug, and focus a little harder on Him.  The benefits are fabulous!

There was a time not too long ago that I wasn’t allowing myself to observe a true Sabbath rest.  It affected every part of me.  I wasn’t getting a head start on the week.  I was continually draining myself mentally and physically.  There was no refueling happening.  I also wasn’t enjoying my church family because all I could think about was how busy the afternoon was going to be.  Decreasing the crazy busy in my family definitely means the Sabbath rest has to be a standard we don’t cheat on.

What does your Sabbath rest look like?  Is it always the same day of the week?  Does it change depending on the time of year?

For all who have entered into God’s rest have rested from their labors, just as God did after creating the world.  So let us do our best to enter that rest.  But if we disobey God, as the people of Israel did, we will fall.
Hebrews 4:10-11 NLT

Leave a Reply

