31 Days, Day 4: STOP the Comparisons Already!

If I’m really gut honest most of my crazy busyness extends from looking at other families and comparing.  If I’m gonna stick to the priorities and be flexible when needed I HAVE to stop comparing my family to other families.  I know without a doubt God has a purpose for us.  He has experiences, service, and life that He has planned for just us so that we can minister to others for Him.  If I’m comparing my family’s life to another family then I’m saying that what God has for us isn’t good enough.

I’m surprised everyday by the fabulous things God allows us to experience.  I really want to stop diminishing his plan by wanting what someone else has in their life – then cramming things in mine that aren’t meant to be there.

Here’s the very simple strategy to keep me from comparing…

-First, always be in prayer about what our calendar and commitments look like.
-Second, Instead of drooling and coveting over another family’s opportunities ask God, “Is this something we should be a part of?”
-When I know the answer to #2 is NO – then move on and be CONTENT where we are.
-If the answer to #2 is unclear – Just keep praying and again BE CONTENT with where we are!
-If the answer to #2 is YES, then pray about how to be flexible and make changes in the current schedule and again BE CONTENT!

I have made myself calm and content like a young child in its mother’s arms.  Deep down inside me, I am as content as a young child. Psalm 131:2 NIRV

I’m totally steppin’ on my toes tonight!

Leave a Reply

