31 Days, Day 3: Flexibility and Reward

Over the last couple months I’ve been putting into practice the priority non-priority system.  I feel less stressed than I have in a long time.  There’s still some moments of crazy that I self impose, but I’m quick to readjust.  One of the most important lessons I’ve learned is FLEXIBILITY.

My extended family could be awarded medals for our ability to be flexible.  It was the only way we could survive growing up.  Most of our family plans were interrupted with something unexpected that caused us to have to adjust everything we were doing.  So, flexibility isn’t something I have to learn but a trait I need to be more willing to use.

Take last night for instance – I need to give some background.  My sis-n-law tells me Sunday that Rend Collective is in concert in Little Rock on Thursday night (hour and a half from our house).  The concert starts at 7:00 p.m. and there were 2 bands opening.  I have a very strange draw to anything Irish – Rend Collective -Irish – amazing musicians!  So here comes the struggle in my head…my kids are ages 7, 4, and 2.  Thursday night is a school night for my oldest.  We are also going to be out of town Friday night and all day Saturday.

Now if the last 2 months I had stayed on the crazy busy cycle and dragged my family around for 8 weeks doing everything under the sun this invitation from sis-n-law would have made me totally break down.  I would have wanted to go SoOoo bad but our energy and mental capability to function would have been drained.  So, YAY and thank you Lord for giving me the ability to step back several weeks ago and change our situation.  Instead I was able to be flexible without loosing my mind or anger on my kids.  Even though the next few days are busy we’ve been able to be at home for the majority of the week and take it slow.

The flexibility kicks in this situation cause I could have said, “No we can’t go have this amazing musical experience as a family because we will be gone all weekend.”  Instead I got to say, “we can totally be flexible and go because the beginning of our week will be slow and easy!”

Flexibility can be many different forms for many different people.  In my mind it means look at the whole picture.  Can there be some give and take and still stick to the standards of keeping the family sane?

Thank you Lord for moving me to make some changes!  My kids would have missed out on a really cool experience.  Seriously, have you ever seen a band switch instruments so many times?  So fun and beautiful!  Go see REND COLLECTIVE on the Art of Celebration Tour (props go out to Moriah Peters and Urban Rescue too)

Leave a Reply

