31 Days of No More Crazy Busy, A Simplified Life – Lived to the Fullest!

In the early part of the year I hit a HUGE low. I was verbally expressing anger WAY too often with my children and I gave my amazing husband the worst tongue lashing of our 14 years of marriage. It was a wake-up call. I’m the life manager of our home and family and I allowed the crazy busyness of life take over and turn me into something I never want to be again.

After apologizing to my sweet husband in person and on paper then confessing that ugliness to Christ, I began to pray about what needed to change in my heart and life. The next several months God began speaking to me that my choices in my schedule and my family’s schedule needed to decrease in the craziness zone so that I didn’t continue to express my stress anger on the people I love and cherish the most.

I’m an imperfect work in progress and I’d like to take 31 days to share how I’m decreasing the CRAZY from my family’s life!

DAY 1 Priority
I really dislike -so very much- the word priority. What I’m learning way too late in life is If I don’t have my priorities straight in my head then I’m going to end up crazy busy and stretched too thin. For those in the Myers Briggs world, I’m an ESFP (still figuring this acronym out) and setting priorities is just too concrete for me. Needless to say it’s a struggle and leads to my plate overflowing with self imposed responsibilities and activities.

To get to a less busy calendar I have to know what is necessary and unnecessary – priorities – and what it is God wants in my family’s time and schedule. So, this is what a concrete priority list looks like for me in order of importance from greatest to least…

-Serving Christ in everyday life
-Quality time with my kids and husband
-Work
-School for the kids
-Exercise
-Volunteer Activities
-Play

Most folks don’t have trouble with making a priority list or even living by the list, but for me I just want to see the possibilities and dream of the possibilities not make it a concrete list. When I take time to write it down, read it, live by it, and adjust it when necessary I’m reminded of what I can actually fit into the hours I’m given each week.

If you’re like me and you’re struggling with being crazy busy and it’s having a negative impact on you and the amazing people in your world take 5 minutes today and have a reality check with your priorities! If your activities and schedule aren’t reflecting your priorities, that’s a good place to start to evaluate where you can decrease/eliminate things. If you’re activities and schedule are reflective of your priorities and you’re still too busy, start prayin’ sister! Something’s not lining up☺

Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you. Surely all mankind stands as mere breath! Selah Psalm 39:5 (ESV)

Day1: Priority
Day 2: Priority vs. Non-Priority
Day 3: Flexibility and Reward
Day 4: STOP the Comparisons Already!
Day 5: Good Ole Sabbath Rest
Day 6: Chill Out Mom
Day 7: Extra-Curriculars and Kids
Day 8: Mom’s Extra-Curriculars
Day 9: There Are Still Bumps
Day 10: Harmony vs. Balance
Day 11: Mission Statment
Day 12: Grace for Mistakes
Day 13: Time and Technology
Day 14:
Day 15:
Day 16:
Day 17:
Day 18:
Day 19:
Day 20:
Day 21:
Day 22:
Day 23
Day 24:
Day 25:
Day 26:
Day 27:
Day 28:
Day 29:
Day 30:
Day 31:

2 thoughts on “31 Days of No More Crazy Busy, A Simplified Life – Lived to the Fullest!

  1. I like the idea of taking a reality check to see if my life lines up with my professed priorities. I am in a journey to declutter my life, possessions and thoughts to reflect the priorities I think God has for me. Good look on your 31 day journey.

Leave a Reply

